Art & Art History

University of Mississippi


Chris Sneed, cup
Chris Sneed, platter
Chris Sneed, cup



The Ceramics program is headed by Matt Long, Professor of Art, and Graduate Coordinator for the Department of Art and Art History. Andrew McIntyre is the Instructor/ Ceramic Technician, along with three graduate students that assist in teaching and maintaining of the ceramics lab. Students learn to use clay creatively to make both utilitarian and non-functional/sculptural ceramics using both wheel-thrown and hand-building methods. Students are encouraged to explore individual ideas through material, process and idea. We are focused on assisting students to develop a personal vocabulary through process, aesthetics, concept and technical experimentation. Students will also become skilled at making clay, glazes and firing electric, gas reduction, salt, soda and woods kilns.

Ceramic courses are offered on all levels and are complemented with demonstrations, lectures, and critiques from professors, instructors, and visiting artists.

Ceramics is offered as an emphasis area of study for both undergraduate students and graduate students, accommodating the BA, BFA and MFA degrees.

Facilities and Equipment:

The ceramics area is housed on the first floor of Meek Hall in room 127 and consists of a large indoor studio/teaching area, clay-mixing and storage area, loading dock, well-equipped glaze lab, and an outdoor kiln pad. This 5,674 square foot classroom/studio space houses all facets of the ceramics area.

The main teaching room houses 20 electric wheels, large working tables and locker space for student work. All students have storage for their work and tools with access to public shelving and rolling carts.

There are four 9 ft. x 16 ft. semi-private studios for graduate students.

The glaze lab/electric kiln area is well equipped; with easy and appropriate access to sinks, spray booth, glazes and material and a semi-enclosed structure with ventilation for the mixing of glazes.

The clay mixing room has two soldner mixers with attached ventilation systems, two de-airing pug mills, and the room is equipped with its own heat and air units. The roll up door/loading dock provides easy access to delivery of materials.

The outdoor kiln pad houses all high fire gas kilns in a semi enclosed/ open air space for ventilation.

1. Outdoor/open air kiln pad;(Ceramics Kiln Area, 1,200 s.f.).
1 up-draft gas kiln
1 down draft gas car kiln
1 up-draft gas test kiln
1 salt kiln
1 soda kiln
2 raku kilns

2. Loading dock with clay mixing and storage (900 s.f.).
2 de-airing pug mill
2 Soldner clay mixers
ventilation unit
ball mill
brick saw
approximately 30 tons of raw materials

3. 127 Teaching Lab (1,570 s.f.).
20 electric wheels
Large tables for handbuilding
storage and shelving for all students work
4 semi-private graduate studios (dimensions, 11’x16’)

4. 125 Glaze Lab/Electric Kiln Room (1,249 s.f.)
Houses 9 large ware carts
1 large Laguna spray booth with its own ventilation system
7 electric kilns (6 with computer controls)
2 tables with material bins/ hood ventilation system isolated to the table top in semi-enclosed structure.

Lab hours out side of regular class time:

Monday- Friday, 5:00-10:00, Sunday, 12:00pm- 5:00pm


Mud Daubers
The Mud Daubers are a group of graduate and advanced student ceramicists led by Professor Matt Long. They participate in various events such as the Double Decker Art Festival, Empty Bowls project and Ole Miss Alumni projects throughout the year as well as host a fall and spring sale on campus. The Mud Daubers bring in many national and international visiting artists. For more information, call (662)915-5860.

Visiting Artists:

Von Venhuizen- Fall 2016

David Hiltner–Fall 2015

Josh DeWeese- Fall 2014

Jeremy Kane- Fall 2013

Sara Panzarella–Fall 2011

Jeremy Randall–Fall 2011

Adam Yungbluth–Fall 2011

Jeff Johnston–Fall 2009

Tom Bartel–Spring 2009

Greg Crowe, Australia–Fall 2008

Brad Schwieger–Fall 2008

Robert Boomer Moore–Fall 2008

Leandra Urrutia–Spring 2007

Nigel Rudolph–Fall 2007

Cheyenne Chapman Rudolph–Fall 2007

Conner Burns–Spring 2006

Chris Gray–Fall 2006